Biphasic Sleep Experiment – Day 4

Bad news–I overslept again. This time, my core sleep was 6.5 hrs. I think the no nap idea from yesterday was a bad, bad idea. I had a very difficult time getting up, and was again not really thinking straight since I somehow decided to go back to sleep after my alarm went off. I have an old habit of turning off alarms and going back to bed–which becomes more pronounced if I get more weary than usual, like yesterday without my scheduled 90 min nap. So today, even though I slept for 6.5 hrs for my core sleep, I took a nap pursuant to the set schedule, and had 90 minutes. What was fascinating was, even though I felt perfectly awake just before I took my nap (initially I even had trouble falling asleep), by the time I woke up I felt like a lot of time had passed–similar to what I described earlier in the Day 2 post.

So tonight I’ll definitely shoot for 3 hrs of core sleep. Stay tuned!

Day 4 stats:

  • Core: 6.5 hrs
  • Nap: 1.5 hrs
  • Cumulative hours slept: 23.5 hrs
  • Average amount of sleep per day: 5.88 hrs
