Biphasic Sleep Experiment – Day 5

Good news! I overslept only by 1.5 hours yesterday night for my core sleep (i.e., I had 4.5 hours). And I also had the 90 min nap this evening as well, which was very helpful. I can tell that I’m starting to feel the effects of temporary sleep deprivation–I was extremely tired at certain moments, especially after I had my big afternoon lunch. I really need to add regular exercise to this transition into biphasic sleep. Well, so far, I haven’t had any serious headaches or anything like that–although I wouldn’t say that I didn’t have any headaches in the past couple days. Just light stuff that goes away–lo and behold–after I take my 90 min nap (or after I oversleep, hah).

Day 5 stats:

  • Core: 4.5 hrs
  • Nap: 1.5 hrs
  • Cumulative hours slept: 29.5 hrs
  • Average amount of sleep per day: 5.9 hrs

Hmm, so far it looks like I’m missing my target sleep per day by 1.4 hours–which isn’t too bad, I suppose, for the first 5 days into this experiment. I can tell you now that, honestly, I have never slept less than 6 hours every day for more than 2, maybe 3 days (I really doubt this). Getting 5.9 hrs per day ain’t bad at all. It’s essentially just 1 more 90 min cycle after you hit the 4.5 hr mark. Originally, I contemplated sleeping 6 hrs per day instead of 4.5, but just couldn’t resist the temptation of that > 5 figure. Besides, 1.5 hours spread out over a week is 9.5 hours! That’s a lot of time I could potentially save. And since I have a ton of ongoing hobbies (learning languages, 3D computer graphics modeling, piano, guitar, and now maybe even composing my own music), I really really want no more than 4.5 hrs per day.

