Biphasic Sleep Experiment – Day 6

Hmm, good and bad news. I slept really late for my core sleep (slept at 4 am and woke up at 8:30 am), and overslept probably as a result of that. As for my scheduled 90 min evening nap, I had an extra-long work day, and I didn’t get home until about 7 pm. After a shower and some preparation, I ate dinner close to 8 pm, and so that really threw off my nap time. I began my nap at 9:30 pm (a 3 hour delay), but woke up at 2:30 am (5 hrs). As I write this, I am sort of “skipping” my core sleep, as I feel somewhat awake. (I guess I will have to put a “0” for my “core sleep” for tomorrow’s entry.) Do note that, I did wake up at around 11 pm because of my alarm, but somehow in my extremely drowsy state of mind (again, most likely due to large scheduling delays as noted above), went back to sleep–I don’t exactly remember getting up and turning off my alarm! This is bad, I know, but on the flip side, I woke up automatically, in the darkness of my bedroom, after approximately 5 hours–a good sign that my body will now permit no more than this amount of sleep at one time!

I’ve noticed by now that my body is getting used to sleeping not 3 hours for core sleep, but more in the are of 4.5 hours. So it’s a battle of 2 90-min cycles versus 3. I think this makes sense, given the fact that previous to this sleep experiment, I pretty much always slept at least 8 hours (usually 9) every day. It makes sense to gradually adapt to a 3-hour core sleep schedule, and so I think my current period of “oversleeping” makes sense–perhaps this is best after all. I’m just really curious when I will be able to comfortably sleep for 3 hours each night for my core sleep–maybe a week from now?

From the progess that I have seen, I am still confident that I will eventually reach my goal of 4.5 hrs of sleep total per day.

Day 6 stats:

  • Core: 4.5 hrs
  • Nap: 5 hrs
  • Cumulative hours slept: 39 hrs
  • Average amount of sleep per day: 6.5 hrs
