Biphasic Sleep Experiment – Day 8

Alas, I still couldn’t pull 3 hours for my core sleep. It’s like my body is refusing to accept it or something. Even worse, my throat was slightly swollen since yesterday, and I think I was a little bit sick. I ended up sleeping 4.5 hrs again for my core sleep. Which isn’t bad. I exercised a bit later in the morning, and also spent a lot of time shopping for office supplies and other random things. I got back from shopping at around 6 pm, and had a truckload for dinner. Bad idea. I started my 90 min nap at around 8:30 pm, and didn’t wake up until… 7:30 AM!!!

This oversleeping problem is going out of hand. Even though I was a little sick and tired, sleeping for 11 hours is just unreasonable. I don’t even feel that great/refreshed after this. So from now on I am going to set my alarm clock (on my computer) with long, loud songs. I’m even thinking of multiple timers to go off at various multiples of 1.5 hours, just to make sure that something like this 11-hr hibernation doesn’t happen again.

Day 8 stats:

  • Core: 4.5 hrs
  • Nap: 11 hrs
  • Cumulative hours slept: 56 hrs
  • Average amount of sleep per day: 7 hrs
