Biphasic Sleep Experiment – Day 9

I overslept. Again. This is becoming routine–a most precarious predicament, indeed. What to do? Well, I couldn’t fall asleep for my nap today after sleeping 7.5 hours for my core sleep (I actually woke up after about 4.5 hours but tossed and turned on my bed continuously for about 3 hours, which was really a dumb idea–I cannot now rationalize this). Ah, woe is me. I did wake up from an alarm, but I was in a half-zombie state of mind, I recall. Hmm, maybe my brain is suffering some serious stress from this experiment after all? Who knows. I’m going to keep trying, at least for a couple more weeks.

And yes, I do realize that changing up my schedule this way and that way lengthens the time it will take me to get used to sleeping the goal of 4.5 hrs per day–but hey, I can’t help falling asleep sometimes, you know! I used to be a real bear before this experiment started–12+ hour sleeping sessions were not uncommon for me. So 4.5 is really cutting it down pretty brutally, I guess. Which is why my body is resisting. Let’s see what happens tomorrow.

Day 9 stats:

  • Core: 7.5 hrs
  • Nap: 0 hrs
  • Cumulative hours slept: 65 hrs
  • Average amount of sleep per day:  7.2 hrs
