Biphasic Sleep Experiment – Day 10

Hmm, so I did sleep 3 hours of core sleep, but then sort of “crashed” with a whopping 14.5 hour nap. Well, it wasn’t 15 hours straight–I woke up at 4 am, then again at 6, then 6:30, 7, 9, etc. So I’ll just put down 14.5 hours instead of 8. It’s tough trying to kill old habits… Anyway, the reason why I “crashed” was because I ate a tiny lunch (half of a salad) at 1 pm, but then didn’t eat dinner until 6:30 pm. And I was so hungry at the time, and ended up devouring a mountain of food. It was too much, I think, and so when I took my nap at 7:30 pm, I didn’t wake up (fully) until 10:00 am. Gah, I’m totally messing up my schedule now. Oh well. I’ll just have to keep on trying. It is now 7 pm, and I am skipping my usual nap. Thus, what follow is 1 1/2 day’s worth of data:

Day 10 stats:

  • Core: 3 hrs
  • Nap: 14.5 hrs
  • Cumulative hours slept: 82.5 hrs
  • Average amount of sleep per day:  8.25 hrs

My stats are not impressive, I know. But hey, it’s a start, right? And plus, these stats still beat my old average of 10+ hours per day (that’s on the weekdays, not to mention the 12 hour sleep schedules on the weekends.

